Hello Seventies! – The new comeback kid in Fashion

408cc975fa30e7e3e6058586eca995e1    hbz-street-style-trends-70s-10 hbz-street-style-trends-dynamic-duos-09

The bohemian chic of the seventies is back! Fashion has a notorious history of revisiting past lovers, ensuring that with every new collection that comes around, we are reminded that no trend ever truly dies.

The weathe55024bf8e80e0_-_hbz-lfw-ss2015-street-style-day3-20r in Cape Town has taken a turn, and Spring or Pre Summer if you will, has seen all the shops bringing in their new ranges. One look at the window displays of Forever New and Woolworths and I could already spot the dungaree and fringe combinations coming through. Even the Zara window display at the Waterfront, is paying homage to fashion’s latest revival.
The bohemian theme is going to be one of summer’s most embraced styles here in South Africa. Everywhere you look, the people of Cape Town are going to be walking around wearing fringe vests and maxi dresses; acting like Coachella has come to Cape Town. They finally get to wear that outfit they have been saving at the back of their imaginations, hoping for this day. There is no doubt in my mind that Instagram is going to be full of young fashionistas, posing with flower crowns and culturally appropriated Bindis.

The Bohemian theme comes hand in hand with a throwback to the 55024c1134200_-_hbz-lfw-ss2015-street-style-day1-31seventies. The Bellbottom has made its way on to our shelves, as well as cut off polo necks, dungarees, and platformed shoes of a varied sort. Sheer tops, paisley prints and wide legged pants are going to be some of the garments we are going to be seeing around town.

This is a trend that takes me back to 2005. I was 12 years old and had just gotten my first gypsy skirt. Now let me inform you, I was a very chubby little girl, and any form of clothing that hid my curvaceous features was an item of clothing I bought. It was white and I would wear it with these slip on’s, that every one had from Woolworths (you know the ones with the flower embroidery on the front). I remember how everyone wore fringed tops, ponchos, and bellbottoms, all from Br87. Although twelve year olds are dressing much differently these days, I can’t help but feel nostalgic about some of the things I am seeing.

55024c0456b32_-_hbz-lfw-ss2015-street-style-day2-26Some of my favourite aspects of this trend would have to be

  • Buttoned up skirts
  • Knee high boots
  • Loose fitted, well everything
  • Dungarees
  • Suede Jackets (that range from tan to burn orange) and
  • Jumpsuits

Personally, I can’t wait to embrace a few aspects of this trend, although the bohemian/seventies look doesn’t really fit with my personal style, I’ll definitely be looking out for a few pieces from this trend to incorporate into my everyday style. Who knows, maybe my mom has something in the back of her closet I could steal.

Leave a Reply

