The Kitten Heel.

The Kitten Heel, by definition is a “short, slender heel” between the measurements of 3.5 and 4.75 centimeters, with a slight curve in the heel and was made popular Audrey Hepburn.

The Kitten Hell was introduced in the late 1950s as apart of formal attire for teenage girls and were referred to as “trainer heels” in America. The trend reappeared in the early 1960s and again the 1980s and 90’s, but it would be a number of years till it made its way back into the trends of fashion.

The year was 2005, I was in grade six. I was twelve years old and my knowledge of the fashion world was limited to capri pants and strappi vests (just like the rest of the world). It was a year of innocence and the concept of “body image” was a foreign concept to me. 2005, a year i’m sure everyone looks backs ad thinks, what was the fashion world thinking? keeping this in mind this was also the year i got my first (and only) pair of kitten heels. They were the smallest heel known to man, they were minute and should of really been called a fetus kitten heel, but i loved them. They were blue, with blue, green and yellow dots and the tongs of the shoe were blue, I felt 25 when i put them on.

When I think back to those pair of shoes, I cant imagine what myself and the rest of the fashion world were thinking? But soon, like with all trends, they become unfashionable only leaving behind an embarrassing legacy. In last few years, the thought of the kitten sent shivers down my spine and the idea of them coming back into fashion was positively unheard of in my mind. I could not have been more wrong.

Garance Dore, a fashion blogger, questions this come back. Asking are the “anti-sexy” or are they “super-chic”.

In the recent Summer Spring collection by Louis Vutton, Marc Jacobs incorpirated the Kitten Heel into the collection as part if the retro themed spectacle. Louis Vutton however is not the only designer bringing the kitten heel back. Designers such as Oscar De La Renta and Christian Louboutin are also taking their own spin in the kitten Heel. Louis, Oscar and Christian are the big boys of fashion and if they have anything to do with it the kitten heel is here to stay – for now.

In my personal opinion I believe that some trends are best left dead. there is nothing “chic” or attractive about the kitten heel. how anyone can look at it and think “I want to wear those shoes” is beyond me and no matter who is incorporating them into their collection it still does not change the fact they look like shoes for your doll.

In retrospect, I do however think that if one day you decided you wanted to channel Grace Kelly, Audrey Hepburn, or Coco Chanel, then a pair of kitten heels is just what your outfit needs.

The comeback of this trend goes to show fashion can be repetitive and unreasonable at times and in some ways just plain ugly.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I do not even understand how I stopped up here, however I believed this submit was once good. I do not understand who you’re however definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger if you happen to aren’t already. Cheers!

  2. Hi you have a nice blog over here! Thanks for sharing this interesting stuff for us! If you keep up this great work I’ll visit your weblog again. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

